Wheat shorts use in gluten free baking (human)
Hello and thank you for sending your question to Ask an Expert - a free service of Oregon State University Extension!
There are a lot of by-products of the milling process that are available for consumers to purchase. One is wheat bran that can be purchased at any grocery store and has good nutritional value. Wheat shorts, however, are basically all of the mixed cast offs of milling - the bottom of the barrel type of things. These are usually only suitable for livestock due to the lower standard of food safety and also (probably) because they are a mixed product and don't have a typical use in human cooking. Wheat shorts are also NOT gluten free. Here is a great write up on the different by-products of milling that mentions wheat shorts: https://courses.ecampus.oregonstate.edu/ans312/two/milling_trans.htm
You can also check out the Wheat Foods Council that has some great resources: http://wheatfoods.org/
The Whole Grains Council has some additional very nice resources on gluten free grains if you are looking for resources for that: https://wholegrainscouncil.org/